Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Waiting On Wednesday: DOROTHY MUST DIE (4/1/14)

And I'm back!

I've been reading this year, don't get me wrong. I've actually read thirty books all together in the last ten months. In a nut shell, I'm having a really hard time getting into the books being shoved in my face. If I can't get past the first chapter I'm not going to push myself through the first fifty pages, it's always been my motto and I stick to it.

I have a stack of books that I haven't even opened yet because I want to be in a mindset where I'm happy about reading again. I hate going into a book thinking "Wow everything I've read that last few weeks has been "okay." It ruins my experience as a reader when I start out with a negative outlook on reading all together.

I've recently came across Epic Reads, more importantly Tea Time which is ran by HarperTeen. It's a really cool online presence to keep their readers in the loop of everything HarperTeen related. Through watching Tea Time I came across a book of theirs coming out in the near future 'Dorothy Must Die.'


I didn't ask for any of this.
I didn't ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know?
Sure, I've read the books. I've seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can't be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There's still a yellow brick road—but even that's crumbling.
What happened? Dorothy.
They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.
My name is Amy Gumm—and I'm the other girl from Kansas.
I've been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.
I've been trained to fight.
And I have a mission.
Sometimes we need a little something to spark our love in reading again and I think I've found it. I am disgustingly excited about this book and the excitement from this book has caused me to order at least fifteen books from my local library.

If that isn't enough to get you excited about reading, there's also a prequel (novella) coming out on the 12th of this month for $1.99 called No Place Like Oz.

Dorothy clicked her heels three times and returned to Kansas. The end . . . or was it? Although she's happy to be home with Aunt Em, Dorothy has regretted her decision to leave Oz ever since. So when a mysterious gift arrives at her doorstep on her sixteenth birthday, Dorothy jumps at the chance to return to the glittering city that made her a star.
Setting off for the Emerald City, Dorothy is eager to be reunited with her friends: the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman, and the Cowardly Lion. But she soon discovers that in the time she's been gone, Oz has changed—and Dorothy has, too. This time, the yellow brick road leads her down a very different path. And before her journey is through, Dorothy will find that the line between wicked and good has become so blurred she's not sure which side of it she's on.

USA Today chatted with the author Danielle Paige about both books and provided us with the first chapter of No Place Like Oz on their website earlier today. Check it out and let me know what you think?


Waiting on Wednesday was created by: Breaking The Spine

Monday, July 29, 2013

Review: Teeth - Hannah Moskowitz

I don't know where to start this review. I first purchased a Hannah Moskowitz novel at my event, The Teen Author Carnival. I had very little money that year and told her I needed to read Gone, Gone, Gone and it was in fact the only book I bought that whole trip to New York. I feel in love with Hannah's work and am glad that I decided to pick up Teeth.

What does a book about mermaids offer the young adult community? I was hesitant to pick up this book, not because I doubted the writing. I doubted anyone could make mermaids interesting. Many have tried, many have failed.

What makes Hannah's mermaid different then the other books? It's raw, in your face. After reading this I'm pretty sure Hannah could write a book about a magical piece of poop and I'd love it. There's something that Moskowitz has mastered that many have yet to learn.


She digs deep into herself to tell this story, a story unlike anything I've ever read from her. The story is so compelling and when you get down to the raw facts, it's about a boy, his sick brother and a fish boy. This is THE mermaid book the young adult genre has been waiting for. To put it simple it's fucking brilliant and I suggest you move it to the top of your reading piles if you haven't read it yet.

Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication: January 2013


Thursday, July 25, 2013

Review: Six Earlier Days - David Levithan

I read Every Day by David Levithan and fell in love with the character known as A. It was one of the few books to ever make me cry, so naturally I had to get my hands on Six Earlier Days.

Six Earlier Days is the perfect companion to David Levithan's novel Every Day. You're quickly sucked into the life of A on page one, once more. It was nice to jump around, sometimes several years at a time in A's time line to see how A has grown to be the spirit it is today.


The first few stories were slightly jagged but I quickly fell into accepting A once more as I got deeper into the story. I bow to David for crafting together the life of A and giving his readers a little something more to help understand A.

eBook: 47 pages
Published: November 26th 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Review: The Tales of Beedle the Bard - J. K. Rowling

I'd be lying if I said at one point I thought myself to be one of the biggest Harry Potter fans in the world. I remember saying "J. K. Rowling could probably write a book about poop and I'd love it." Boy, was I wrong.

I was excited to finally read THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD after hearing so many people talk about it through the years. It's been sitting on my shelf collecting dust and my Boyfriend finally convinced me I should give it a shot. I had tried numerous times before and always had issues getting through the first story.

I felt like none of the stories meshed well together and it felt very disconnected  Don't get me wrong, I totally understand it's a book of fairy tales, I guess I was expecting something more from Rowling. It took me a few months to finish the book--I can usually read through a hundred pages in a half hour/hour max.

I remember hearing several people mention they were excited to read the fairy tales of wizarding children. However it felt like I had read something rushed and took very little from the book when finished. This book isn't for everyone, as the Quidditch Throughout The Ages & Fantastic Book of Beasts and Where to Find Them aren't mentioned by many people anymore.

This book helped me realize  I won't like everything from my favorite authors and that's okay. (Which was my biggest fear.) It's even okay to blog about it.

Purchase
Publisher: Bloomsbury (UK)
Publication: December 4th, 2008

Sunday, April 7, 2013

Review: Stage Management - Lawrence Stern

I've been spending my time at our local theater, but while I was away I did have the chance to read a book. A book about stage management ironically enough, so it was an easy theater tie in. I've been slowly learning how to do things at the theater and wanted to conquer stage management next.

I had watched a few people stage manage before me so I knew the general direction of things. What needed the most attention, what didn't deserve stressing out and what I could improve on organization skill wise.

I had mentioned my interest in being a stage manager and was told I'd be a good fit to try a small cast first. Small cast here meaning four people; however the production currently happening was the only one of the season with a small cast.

I was bummed.

And then I was handed a few books and PDF's to read by friends, Stage Management  being one of them. I read the book in less than a week and took extensive notes. I found that a lot of the chapters went a little overboard for the type of theater that work at but it would be great for a traveling stage show or a show on a much larger scale.

The book offers many examples of paperwork that you could use to aid you in your stage managing journey. As well as check off sheets for setting the stage, cleaning the stage and emergency protocols.

I would suggest this book to anyone who has an interest in stage managing. I believe it's a school text book, but very handy to anyone looking to apply a more structured stage management environment.

And apparently my note taking and book reading paid off. I was recently asked to stage manage our next production, 9 to 5 the musical. I know if it wasn't for this book my workstation and binder would be a pigsty and I would be completely lost.

I'm going to make Dolly proud, Y'all!

Purchase
Publisher: Allyn & Bacon
Publication Date: January 2009

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Review: Stargirl - Jerry Spinelli


I've known about the Stargirl books for some time. I even have a friend who was impacted by the novel so much she has Stargirl tattooed on her arm. Initially I rolled by eyes, I mean I roll my eyes at any book inspired tattoo to be completely honest.

Last year I saw Stargirl sitting by itself at a local library book sale, I bought it for a whopping twenty-five cents! It's sat beside my bed since then. “I'll get to it sometime.” I would say, but then again I say that about my one-hundred plus collection of books that I've yet to read.

I signed up for the Goodreads reading challenge again this year, my goal is to read thirty books. I decided why not start with Stargirl after all many people had said it impacted their life... if only I had known what I was getting myself into.

Stargirl is a novel about a very interesting young women in a small town population. She's caring, supportive and outgoing. Everyone seems to love her until the moment when she starts supporting the opposing team as well as her own. I mean after all, what kind of person does that?

The book follows Leo and his complex relationship with Stargirl. It covers several topics. I'd suggest it to the middle grade crowd, especially to children who feel they do not fit in as they should. This novel isn't amazingly written, BUT it hits all of the heart strings all at once, which easily could make it a classic. I think everyone wants to connect with Stargirl when really most of us would end of being the Leo's of the world.

Purchase
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 5/11/2004

Monday, September 12, 2011

WITCH EYES - Review

Witch Eyes - Scott TraceyPublisher: Flux
Pages: 332
Release: August 2011

My Rating: 4/5

Description: 
A boy who can see the world's secrets and unravel spells with just a glance.



Braden's witch eyes give him an enormous power. A mere look causes a kaleidoscopic explosion of emotions, memories, darkness, and magic. But this rare gift is also his biggest curse.


Compelled to learn about his shadowed past and the family he never knew, Braden is drawn to the city of Belle Dam, where he is soon caught between two feuding witch dynasties. Sworn rivals Catherine Lansing and Jason Thorpe will use anything--lies, manipulation, illusion, and even murder--to seize control of Braden's powers. To stop an ancient evil from destroying the town, Braden must master his gift, even through the shocking discovery that Jason is his father. While his feelings for an enigmatic boy named Trey grow deeper, Braden realizes a terrible truth: Trey is Catherine Lansing's son . . . and Braden may be destined to kill him.


My Review:


When I first heard about Witch Eyes I knew that the novel would be something special. I wrote up a Waiting on Wednesday post and started sharing the word. It was the first time that I had actually felt excited about the release of a YA LGBT book, not to mention a fantasy novel.


Witch Eyes is easily one of my favorite novels of the year. Tracey has woven a page turning treasure with a touch of snark and an amazing history. This book will not disappoint any fantasy lover, the story is unique as are the characters. 


I'm happy that Tracey introduced Braden as a gay teenager who had already figured out he was as a gay male. I find too often authors wish to focus on romance or sexual discovery when coming to a LGBT novel.


Authors so easily forget to tame down the romance aspect in teen fantasy novels these days which is something I find annoying. That wasn't the issue with Witch Eyes, fantasy took the front seat while hints of romance remained at the back. 


This is an unforgettable debut novel and I'm impatiently waiting the second (Demon Eyes) of the series expected in 2012.


Visit Scott-Tracey.com, follow him on Twitter: @Scott_Tracey and be sure to buy your own copy of Witch Eyes.